Academic scholarships

KIST provides monetary awards through two separate scholarship programs that are offered to hardworking students who meet particular criteria. The criteria for receipt of the awards are determined in line with the school’s mission, vision and guiding beliefs.


KIST Scholars' Awards

KIST Scholars' Awards recognize students in Grades 7-12 for their commitment to supporting our school in attaining its mission to ‘provide academically motivated children from diverse cultural and social backgrounds with a high quality education in a safe and supportive environment to develop competent, academic and compassionate individuals who make meaningful contributions to our global community’.

KIST Scholars' Awards are offered in the form of scholarships to students who make significant contributions to our school according to its mission, vision and guiding beliefs, and who demonstrate qualities that truly represent the spirit of the school through both academic excellence and by acting as role models for other students.

There are four categories of KIST Scholars' Awards as described below:

Category Award
Platinum Award Full scholarship covering 100% of the tuition fees for one school year
Gold Award Partial scholarship covering 75% of the tuition fees for one school year
Silver Award Partial scholarship covering 50% of the tuition fees for one school year
Bronze Award Partial scholarship covering 25% of the tuition fees for one school year

Awards cover tuition fees only for the period of one school year. All other school fees are required in full.

KIST Scholars' Awards are awarded based on student attainment against set criteria. Although the process is competitive, there is no minimum/maximum number of awards presented each year; if there are no suitable candidates in one or more categories, no awards will be offered in those categories. 

Selection criteria relate to a number of areas, as follows, based on the performance of candidates during the year of application:

  • Students with excellent academic achievement.
  • Students with a low absentee rate.
  • Students who fulfill their MYP Service or DP Creativity, Action, Service (CAS) requirements.
  • Students who behave appropriately and adhere to school rules and policies.
  • Students who contribute to creating a positive learning environment.
  • Students who are good role models.
  • Students whose parents are supportive and cooperative and participate in school events and other activities.

Application dates are announced each year around April/May.



KIST 'Learning for Life' University Support Scholarships

The Diploma Programme (DP) offered at KIST in Grades 11 and 12 is a very challenging program that is recognized worldwide as a program for academically motivated students. Successful completion of the DP enables students who achieve high scores to go on to leading universities around the world. KIST 'Learning for Life' University Support Scholarships recognize hardworking students who meet set criteria, one of which is to achieve high scores in their final year of the DP.  These scholarships are in place to recognize student commitment during their final year of study, to celebrate high accomplishment, and to support students with their tertiary education as they continue 'learning for life'.

There are three categories of university support scholarships as follows:

Category DP Score Award
Gold Award 45 points 2,000,000 yen cash scholarship
Silver Award 44 points 1,000,000 yen cash scholarship
Bronze Award 42-43 points 500,000 yen cash scholarship

Selection criteria cover a number of areas as follows:

  • Students who graduate from KIST with a full IB Diploma.
  • Students who will enter university the year after graduation from KIST.
  • Students whose absentee rate does not exceed a specified percentage.
  • Students who have displayed responsible conduct during Grades 11 and 12.

Specific requirements for each criterion are distributed each year; however, applications are not required as all students in Grade 12 who meet the criteria are eligible. Awardees, if any, are announced at the beginning of the school year following graduation.